Loch Lomond


loch lomond web

By yon bonnie banks and by yon bonnie braes,
Where the sun shines bright on Loch Lomond
Where me and my true love were ever wont to gae,
On the bonnie, bonnie banks o’ Loch Lomond.

Chorus

O ye’ll tak’ the high road and I’ll tak’ the low road,
And I’ll be in Scotland afore ye.
But me and my true love will never meet again,
On the bonnie, bonnie banks o’ Loch Lomond.

‘Twas there that we parted in yon shady glen,
On the steep, steep side o’ Ben Lomond.
Where in deep purple hue, the hieland hills we view,
And the moon comin’ out in the gloamin’.

The wee birds may sing and the wild flowers spring,
And in sunshine the waters are sleeping:
But the broken heart, it kens nae second spring again,
Tho’ the waefu’ may cease from their greeting.

5 responses to “Loch Lomond

  1. Nice image and post..just happy we didn’t’ have to listen to you sing it hahahahhahahahhaa

  2. Videos of me singing are much more likely to show up on my paulscribbles blog, but this is not a song I would be inclined to do, lovely though it is…better sung by a Scot me thinks.

    • LOL I think that is what I was getting at…I think haha…beautiful image and it does remind me of Loch Lomond…though it’s been gee…twenty odd years since I was there

      • It’s a beautiful spot…moody the day I was there but atmospheric…perfect for black and white methinks. Glad you liked it.

      • yes moody..that’s the word…was very sunny the day I was there but great reflections in the loch

Leave a Reply

