Paul’s Photography Challenge: Industrial


This was always going to be the subject that required a bit more thought, and surprisingly because of that has been hugely rewarding to shoot.

It was a topic suggested by Mike Hardisty and I have to thank him on two counts. One for the suggestion, which has taken me into a subject area I would not otherwise have ventured, and two for his use of HDR/Tonemapping, which has inspired me to have a go too.

I’ll be honest and say that up until now, a lot of HDR/Tonemapping Photography turned my stomach and generated a very strong sense of NO…Do not like. Mike has some work that made me look differently at the subject.

I accept it as an art form in it’s own right but I have been somewhat of a purist with Photography, having shot film for so long, and I have always been a fan of ‘In Camera’ style shots with very little editing. I should ad a caveat here in that Darkroom technique is of course a form of editing in itself but in the main I was always pretty much in the ‘what you shoot is what you get’ camp.

Since I bought my first DSLR, the lovely little Pentax K20D, I have come to rely on Photoshop far more than the darkroom and so have at times availed myself of the possibilities therein. The boundaries became more blurred between tweaking and creation.

So when taking on the industrial challenge I did some research to try and find a suitable location. I looked up derelict industrial buildings in my neck of the woods and found some fabulous resources such as Derelict Places

I also decided this would be a suitable subject to experiment with as far as HDR and Tone Mapping were concerned.

Here are my results.

Dalton Mill Web

Yellow and Blue web

Yellow and Green web

Pallets web

Pillar Natural web

Red Pillars web

Water on the floor web

 

Ps…we have a new member of the challenge so pop over to the OP to find out who it is and what the new topic is 😉

8 responses to “Paul’s Photography Challenge: Industrial

  1. What a great location! I’m impressed at your first HDR/tonemapping attempts too. These techniques are, in my opinion, ideally suited to grungy industrial scenes, especially when you have bright windows to deal with too. My only suggestion would be to try to tone down the window highlights in future. I suspect you may not have shot quite enough brackets to capture the exterior detail (though you don’t say what you shot). In a scene such as this, I would likely be shooting 9 or perhaps even more shots to gather all the highlight and shadow detail in the scene. If you follow the “always shoot N brackets” school of thought, you will soon find that that “rule” breaks down badly inside buildings like this.

    • Thanks for the feedback Dave. I am happy with this as a first outing but as with all new things learning is at a peak. I shot 5 frames and also used the Av setting. Now I have more of an idea I will shoot manual, make use of the histogram more and as you suggest add more frames.Thanks again for dropping by and I wish I’d found your very informative website before I went out on this shoot.

  2. Lovely. I feel a tinge of envy with regard to accessing such sites.

    My particular favourite is the pallets shot.

    Interesting to me as I had already determined to extend my own HDR wings when I can schedule a repeat trip to St Magnus. Am all the more keen now.

    • Thanks Beth. Steep learning curve for me but the advice post shoot from Dave was brilliant and I look forward to improving on my first efforts.

Leave a Reply

