self portrait number 1


Pentax K20D, sepia tint/distress

I shot this on a day when I was deep in a funk. I am sat staring out of the bedroom window as if trying to find an a voice to give to the darkness that dwelled inside of me. I thought that trying to capture my mood would prove cathartic in some way. At the least it would enable me to see myself differently. As I sat, a Rumi poem came to mind. The poem is added below.

me

Be helpless, dumbfounded,
Unable to say yes or no.
Then a stretcher will come from grace
to gather us up.

We are too dull-eyed to see that beauty.
If we say we can, we’re lying.
If we say No, we don’t see it,
That No will behead us
And shut tight our window onto spirit.

So let us rather not be sure of anything,
Beside ourselves, and only that, so
Miraculous beings come running to help.
Crazed, lying in a zero circle, mute,
We shall be saying finally,
With tremendous eloquence, Lead us.
When we have totally surrendered to that beauty,
We shall be a mighty kindness.

(Rumi, 13th century Persian poet and mystic)

6 thoughts on “self portrait number 1

  1. …I meant to say also how well you write. I am not a writer, although I would love to be. Sometimes I try to accompany a photo with a few words but I always end up deleting them.

Leave a Reply

